08 Jan Nevada workers may now qualify for having earned paid sick days. Know your employment rights.
Senate Bill 312 (SB312) implementation Jan. 1, 2020
Last year Make the Road Nevada (MRNV) members along with the Time to Care NV (TCNV) coalition, rallied together in an effort to push for earned paid sick days for the working families in Nevada. On June 12, 2019, Governor Sisolak made it official when he signed SB312 into law. Fast-forward to now, SB312 took effect on January 1st for employers with more than 50 employees. You may be asking what this means to you and how it might affect your job? Here are a few frequently asked questions regarding earned paid sick days:
Q1: Who is eligible for earned paid sick leave?
A: Full-time and Part-time employees with employers who have more than 50 employees
Q2: Who is NOT eligible for earned paid sick leave?
A: Temporary, seasonal, and on-call employees; employers with less than 50 employees; and employers with matching or greater paid leave policies
Q3: How much paid sick leave am I owed?
A: You are owed .01923 hours of paid sick leave per hour worked
Q4: How will my paid sick leave work?
A: Your employer must provide you with paid sick leave at the rate above either by earning it over time or front loading, depending on the employer’s discretion.
Q5: When can I start using my earned paid sick leave?
A: You are eligible to use your paid sick leave after 90 days of employment and depending on workplace policies once you have earned the minimum increment to use a paid sick day.
Q6: How long do I have to give notice before using my paid sick leave?
A: SB312 does not set requirements for use of paid leave ahead of time but also does not restrict the use of last-minute notices for emergencies.
Q7: Can my employer deny my paid sick leave?
A: Your paid leave can NOT be denied if you have available paid leave, nor can you be required to find a replacement as a condition or be retaliated against for using paid leave.
Q8: What should I do if my employer is not providing paid sick leave if you are eligible?
A: If your employer is not complying with the new law, file a complaint at the following website: