If You’re on the Verge of Eviction, Follow These Steps.
Submit a CHAP application: As long as you’ve applied and stayed up-to-date with your application, you are protected from eviction while you wait for financial support.
Respond to all eviction notices: You can respond online by visiting www.lacsn.org/efile and select “Summary Eviction: Tenant’s Answer.”
Add Your CHAP application’s status in your response: Make sure you tell the court about your application’s status. If you’ve been approved by CHAP but your landlord has refused the money or has refused to cooperate, make sure to add that in your response, as well.
Say yes to mediations: If you’re asked if you’d like one, say yes. If you haven’t, request the free service. Mediation requests pause your eviction by 30 days so the mediator can help you and your landlord resolve the situation.
Housing Justice FAQ
Question: How Do You Break Your Lease Properly?
ANSWER: As the tenant, you are legally responsible for paying rent for the entire duration of your lease, which is typically 12 months. However, there are situations in which breaking your lease in Nevada is justified.
You are now on active military duty
You are over the age of 60 and moving due to mental or physically disability
The rental is not in compliance with safety and health codes for Nevada
Landlord violates your privacy and/or harasses you
You are a victim of domestic violence
Remember, it is the landlord’s responsibility to find a new tenant—not yours.
Question: What Is Housing Discrimination?
ANSWER: When you’re a tenant in Nevada, your landlord cannot discriminate, harass, or retaliate against you. There are laws that prohibit a landlord from discriminating against you based on your:
Question: What are Your Renters Rights in Nevada Against Rental Increases?
ANSWER: If the dwelling is listed under Chapter 118A, the landlord is required by law to give you 45 days written notice of them increasing your rent.
However, if you are in a lease with your landlord, by law they are not allowed to increase your rent until the term of the lease has expired. When the lease is about to expire, they still have 45 days to send you a written notice of the new rental rate that will be applied when their lease officially expires.
If you only stay-month-to-month with your landlord, then they are only obligated to give you 15 days written notice of the new rental rate.
You should also note your landlord will not be allowed to increase your rent in retaliation against you. For instance, if you reported your landlord because they are violating the health code, your landlord cannot turn around and raise your rent because you got them in trouble.
If you are unsure if your landlord is raising your rent in retaliation against you, it is best to consult an attorney.